Profile Picture

Catherine Barron

map_pinUnited States
2:42 AM (GMT-07:00)



About Me

Hello Everyone, I can't tell you how much I enjoy witnessing a student improve, excel, and gain confidence simply by applying themselves seriously to learning the English language. This is why I am so committed as a teacher to help students get to the level they want in speaking English.

I am focused, patient, and effective in giving my students the important and necessary skills such as: building their vocabulary, teaching correct sentence structuring, and correct verb usage. In addition, through conversational speaking as part of every lesson, my students will reach their desired level and speak perfect English, correctly.

I was born and raised in the United States. My education was in attending 12 years of private schools with the English language as my only language. I have been speaking and writing since I was 9 years old.

I have a Bachelor of Arts Degree, Summa Cum Laude, in Psychology and a minor in Sociology. I graduated in 2015 with a 3.99/4.00 GPA. I am a professional speaker and writer and I love helping people gain their confidence through speaking correct English.

I tutor for both grade-school students and adults who want to learn and improve their speaking skills in English. My coaching and tutoring background include ESL conversational speaking, communication skills, public speaking, presentations, and essay writing. As a native English speaker and writer, I have an excellent command of the English language.

My method of tutoring in ESL is the conversational format. With this method, I speak on a 1 to 1 basis engaging my students to talk and write about topics of interest to them. Conversation with the student is of high importance. Using this method, I am able to focus on their strengths while challenging them to higher levels of learning.

Sentence structure, verb usage, vocabulary and of course pronunciation are the essential areas I stress for learning. This process allows students to witness the complex grammar rules and apply them correctly to practical speaking that will help them become fluent over time.

My tutoring experience presently ranges from 6th grade to adults (2009-present) in Los Angeles, California. Some of these students are from Mexico, Latin America, Ukraine, France, and the U.S. Many of my students are interested in improving their speaking skills for their careers and for advancing in their jobs. Others want to feel confident in engaging with fellow co-workers and supervisors in the workplace.

Grade school students want to master the English language in preparation of being accepted to a University while other students are trying to pass and graduate from their classes. I tutor most of my students online. All of my present students have given me a 5-star rating.

*Studied Theatre Arts at California State, Los Angeles before transferring to Ashford University.

*Studied artistic dance for 20 years.

*Avid nutrition and physical fitness participant.

*Volunteer at a local church to guide and coach people in managing their lives.

Teacher Stats

watchVery quickly
timetable4 years ago
class_blackboard10.0 lesson average




B.A. Psychology/Sociology
Ashford University - Iowa, USA

briefcaseWork Experience

B.A. Psychology/Sociology
Ashford University - Iowa, U.S.A.
Psychology, Coaching, & Writing